#BookReview : The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester

When you’re looking for a new book to read and one of your friends sends you a picture of of their book case with a message of ‘pick one’, you know its going to be a good day!

I chose The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester. Picking a book from a virtual bookcase is a new one for me. I’m a charity shop book shopper, I do like the new releases, I have a few authors who are permanently on Amazon pre-order but generally,I like a charity book shop – I’m not going to lie, it’s the covers that entice me in, I am guilty of judging books by their covers on a regular basis. I always read the first couple of pages and if I’m not laughing, crying or find myself on chapter two without knowing how I got there, the book usually goes back on to the shelf and the magpie that I am, I’m on to the next one. (ruthless, I know!)

Picking a book solely based on it’s cover, how was that going to work out?

More than anything in the world, Frankie George wants to see her name in the London Evening Gazette, not in any sort of story but as a reporter.Determined, strong willed and maybe even a little naive is how I would describe Frankie George. She is going to get to where she wants to be, because, well, why shouldn’t she?

Ebony Diamond has the most beautiful name, I think that I have ever heard, but that is besides the point. Taming lions, flying about on a trapeze and giving Frankie George the run around whilst wearing a corset make Ebony a very interesting character. Not one to be messed with, there is certainly something a bit ‘wild’ about her.

‘She reached in to her dress pocket, pulled out a match, struck it on the sole of her boot and dropped it.’

The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester

There’s certainly a lot more to all of the characters in the book than you’d first think but none more so than Milly. I loved Milly’s character, she brings something special to the story which I am yet to put my finger on.  I almost crave story with Milly as the main heroine, of her own story. I believe she’s a strong enough character with enough of an interesting life to pull of the lead role – definitely. When I think of the characters in The Hourglass factory I sometimes feel as though I have watched a film rather than read the book, Ribchester creates such wonderful visuals through her words.

It’s 1912 and women are fighting for the right to vote.Not all women and not all of those fighting are women. I’d definitely recommenced The Hourglass Factory, the story is engaging, the characters are well rounded and it’s so well written you’ll find yourself flying through the pages.

The twist in this plot will give you whiplash and you won’t necessarily see them coming but in the end, you’ll want to flick back to page 1 and start all over again.

Follow Lucy @lucyribchester

Follow Books and the City @TeamBATC

 

One thought on “#BookReview : The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester

Leave a Reply

